2021-2025 RCSWD SWIP Press Release

Home » Blog » Latest News » 2021-2025 RCSWD SWIP Press Release

Rutland County Solid Waste District
Brian J. Sales

Information on the Rutland County Solid Waste District
Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP)

The Vermont Agency of Natural Resources (ANR) requires the Rutland County Solid Waste District (RCSWD) to submit a Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP) every 5 years for approval. The SWIP sets forth how the District intends to meet Vermont state standards in regard to municipal solid waste and recycling. The SWIP encompasses all the member towns of the District for this purpose. The member towns of RCSWD are: Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington, Mendon, Mount Tabor, Mount Holly, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford, Wells and West Rutland. The current 5 year plan was approved by ANR on December 29, 2020.

With the passage of Vermont’s Universal Recycling Law (ACT 148) in 2012, a timeline was established which has incrementally raised the bar in regard to dealing with diversion rates. On top of the requirement of mandatory recycling, diversion of material such as construction & demolition material, leaf and yard debris, and food residue has now been included in the mix. The impact of this creates an atmosphere where RCSWD will work collaboratively with the State, residents, businesses, institutions, haulers, and other stakeholders to divert valuable resources from the landfill and meeting or exceeding the State’s goal of reducing the disposal rate of municipal solid waste.

For more information the SWIP is placed on the RCSWD website at www.rcswd.com