About Us

Home » About Us

Governance: Established in 1979, Rutland County Solid Waste District is a union municipal district that exists to cooperatively and comprehensively address the solid waste management interests of its member towns. The District is governed by a Board of Supervisors representing the communities from the 17 member towns in Rutland County.

Mission: Our mission is to reduce reliance on landfills through waste reduction, reuse, and recycling programs. To accomplish this, the District works closely with member-towns, schools, businesses, and institutions to provide technical assistance, education, and tools designed to reduce waste and capture valuable resources through recycling, donating and composting.

Vision: To reduce waste in a sustainable and economical matter by giving our residents and businesses the means of recycling electronic waste, food scrap collection, household hazardous waste disposal and much more.

Member Towns: Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington,  Mendon, Mt. Holly, Mt. Tabor, Pittsfield, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford,  Wells, West Rutland